• 0

Is the phrase “working remotely” or “remotely working”?

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
  • 0

There’s nothing funny to say this week. People are afraid of getting sick, of losing loved ones, of losing money. What I can say is that we aren’t alone, even if we have to stand at …

Wednesday, March 11, 2020
  • 0

At 60-something, I can confidently say that I’m past the midlife crisis stage, unless you call “midlife” the period between the first 20 years and the last 20. You’d think I would re…

Wednesday, March 04, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
  • 0

Civility in public discourse is becoming as rare as hens’ teeth. That’s the symptom, not the disease. Why have we become such an uncivil civilization?

Wednesday, February 19, 2020
  • 0

I hope you Windsor-Markles had a great time last week visiting California, the true birthplace of the other Disney princes and princesses. I write this open letter in the hope of lur…

Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Thursday, December 26, 2019
  • 0

It was long overdue. “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” has finally been updated to a less predatory version, thanks to Kelly Clarkson and John Legend. The new lyrics, “Santa-tized for your p…

Wednesday, December 11, 2019
  • 0

It seemed magical, in retrospect: everything in town ticking along like clockwork, a sincere “Bon jour!” from every shopkeeper, and, above all, the serenity that comes from always fo…

Wednesday, November 06, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • 0

It’s Halloween Eve. “All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players,” Shakespeare penned. Thursday evening it will look as though he were writing about us.

Wednesday, October 23, 2019
  • 0

We have completed our annual ode to gridlock known as the Half Moon Bay Art and Pumpkin Festival. The thoughts of the young and young-at-heart now turn to October’s Big Day.

Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 09, 2019
  • 0

Last year I wrote about a rarely mentioned phase in Earth‘s biohistory, the Jackassic Era. It was a time when huge, antisocial monsters roamed and ruled the planet. Eventually, their…

Wednesday, May 22, 2019
  • 1

There was a time when people were happy to receive phone calls. Today, a ringing telephone has become an assault on our privacy and sanity. Telemarketers and robo-callers are taking …