• 0

We have a great variety of wild birds along the Coastside, to the delight of devout birders and folks who just like nature. But the people who named bird species had a lousy way of showing their fondness for the feathered flyers.

Wednesday, February 17, 2021
Wednesday, February 03, 2021
Wednesday, January 27, 2021
  • 0

We unpaid humor columnists are occasionally asked questions about our craft. Over the past 23 years I’ve been asked some queries enough times to think they may be of general interest…

Wednesday, January 20, 2021
  • 0

Either James Madison or Alexander Hamilton wrote, “If angels were to govern men, neither external nor internal controls on government would be necessary.” Though angels might be more…

Wednesday, January 13, 2021
  • 0

Among the things we’ve missed in recent months is those long drives to visit faraway family or national parks. Maybe just for the cocoon comfort of the family car.

Wednesday, January 06, 2021
  • 0

Quip Tide usually begins a new year by predicting events that will not happen in the coming 12 months. But if we’ve learned anything from 2020, it’s that anything can happen.

Wednesday, December 30, 2020
  • 0

It’s not that 2020 was completely rotten. Couples still got married, parents had babies and teachers taught, though their plans were usually modified.

Wednesday, December 23, 2020
  • 0

Dec. 25, 2020, will be “Xmas Lite” for nearly everyone — fewer sleigh bells jingling on visits to Grandma’s house, smaller dinner tables and less need for a wide tree to shade all th…

Wednesday, December 16, 2020
Wednesday, December 09, 2020
Wednesday, December 02, 2020
  • 0

In December our thoughts turn to nutcrackers and elves, caroling and wrapping, holiday movies and big family gather — well, holiday movies, anyway.

Wednesday, November 25, 2020
  • 0

“Without our traditions, our lives would be as shaky as... as... as a fiddler on the roof!” says Tevye, of “Fiddler on the Roof,” in the book, film, and countless stage shows worldwide.

Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
  • 0

Every U.S. president has been commander-in-chief, and most presidents — 28 out of 45 — have also been veterans, having served in active duty, including state militias.

Wednesday, November 04, 2020