States give themselves nicknames, “the Silver State,” “the Show Me State” and “the Sooner State,” to name a few. They also adopt animal mascots, “official” state critters such as California’s grizzly bear, Kansas’ bison, and Oregon’s beaver. 

This raises the question, “Do all states have state dogs?” Only 11 states have chosen an official state dog breed. Some are easy to guess: the Malamute, the Chesapeake Bay Retriever and the Boston Terrier. Others are more arcane, among them the Catahoula Leopard Dog, the Chinook, the Plott Hound, the Boykin Spaniel and the Blue Lacy.  

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

More Stories